home about Kate poems Light to Light poems June Bug



  • two chapbooks published by Finishing Line Press: Light to Light (2016) and June Bug (2014). My work has appeared in several literary magazines including California Quarterly, Third Wednesdays, Chronogram, Dystenium, Flying Horse, The Apple Tree, Raven's Perch, and Linden Avenue. I was a finalist in the Blue light Press chapbook contest (2013).

  • attended the New York State Writers Institute Summer Program at Skidmore College and worked with Campbell McGrath, Carolyn Forche, Henri Cole, and Robert Pinsky.

  • retired as a writing and English instructor at Empire State College Center for Distance Learning, a writing instructor at SUNY Adirondack, and as an administrative assistant at the SUNY Administration System . I've also been a freelance writer for newspapers and was on the editorial board of the literary magazine, The Apple Tree.

  • another life of summer jobs: lifeguard; secretary for a minor league baseball team; and secretary for an opera company

  • live with my partner, Jon, in Ballston Spa, NY and most mornings wake at 5:00 a.m. and write to begin my meanderings through-out the day, to make sense out of this world. I like potato chips, long walks, and Belize.

Light to Light is a delightful chapbook of 24 peoms by minimalist poet Kate McNairy. They play with themes from love, loss, and the universe, often with a humor that tingles the reader.

"Kate McNairy's poems carry inside them the mayhem of love and the aftermath, which is solitude. I hear a wolf howling underneath their matter-of-fact minimalism." -Henri Cole

"Kate McNairy's Light to Light is composed of seemingly simple and straightforward poems which, on closer examination, are far more complex, intelligent, and moving than they at first appear to be. They remind me of Chinese poetry in their compression, the moods they evoke, and their evocation of light, darkness, and the vagaries of love." -Wyn Cooper

"...June Bug is a delightful chapbook by a poet with a keen eye for images and a manner of transforming everyday objects--birds, apples, star, a deer--into totems of cosmic mystery. With a quirky, offhand sensibility in the tradition of Emily Dickinson, Kate McNairy may not "tell it slant" but she certainly orbits it/elliptically..." --Campbell McGrath

"These private particulate poems are irresistible, enchanting because they disturb so quietly. Kate McNairy has a rare talent: the ability to agitate--just enough for the sake of beauty--the worn grooves of everyday emotions and thoughts. " --Threse Broderick